Learning languages after Japanese

Hey guys!

Supposedly Japanese is one of the 5 most difficult languages for a native English speaker to learn.

It has been quite the challenge for me, and for many others here on the forms.

I was curious if any of you who’ve succeeded in learning (for the most part) Japanese have gone on to learn any of the easier languages for a native English speaker to learn.

If so, talk about your experience a bit! I’m curious how much more of a struggle it was to learn Japanese for you.

For me, I could really benefit from learning French. Every time I open a french textbook though, I get PTSD from how it was taught when I was a kid. I have too many friends for which that is the case.

Maybe learning Japanese will be what I need to get over this aversion, after all, french is so easy comparatively! That’s the dream, anyway.

5 Likes

Does it count if I studied French before Japanese? :thinking:

If so, I feel the opposite. Learning French was something of an uphill battle, and I’m completely useless in the language now except maybe a bit of reading. I’ve been picking up some Korean here and there from co-workers, and that seems easier by comparison too.

1 Like

I started learning french after I started learning Japanese and because I am learning Japanese.
I wanted to learn a language that is easier to learn and I’ve only learned Spanish and Latin (and English) as foreign languages in school so I’ve always felt I lacked something since all my friends learned french in school.