Language Learning Thoughts

HELLO!
My main purpose for this post was so that I could share my thoughts, and hear yours on the process of language learning.

So basically I have watched so much cough Japanese cultural TV shows… that I can in a way, understand Japanese almost as well (or better, but don’t quote me on that) as I can understand Korean (Korean, not being my native tongue, but I am Korean, so I hear my parents and family speak all the time). I actually even sometimes confuse the two, and think that the word I am remembering is in Korean, when it is actually Japanese.

I was trying to get more into grammar now, as Kanji is being learned by using WaniKani, but I noticed how much “memorization” was necessary in the understanding of grammar that I got kind of frustrated. By the way, a bit of my background is that I am fluent in conversational Portuguese, and Spanish. *Conversational as I can keep a full conversation, but left Brazil at an early age, so I never actually had any formal education in the language. So reading and writing isn’t up to par as my English.

Most of my family time in conversation is spent figuring out what the word is in Korean <=> Portuguese <=> English <=> Korean…so we are as a family, basically trilingual, which honestly gets suuuuper confusing :rofl:

I realize that my grammar “knowledge” in Portuguese tends to be based on what I do know simply by speaking. In fact, if I get confused grammatically, I remember by just speaking the sentence out loud, or in my head to make sure I am correct.

I think that might also be true for English speakers…I barely remember the rules of grammar, but have done University level English classes.

SORRY THIS IS A LONG POST, I HAVE BEEN THINKING ABOUT THIS A WHILE.