Kun'yomi of 気

Should the kun’yomi of 気 be き or いき? It’s き according to jisho, but いき on WK, even though the noun 気 is pronounced き, and the only words with 気 where いき appers (大気, 平気, 雰囲気 and 排気) all take their い from the kanji preceding 気.

3 Likes

Maybe email the team about this, to have them fix it.

While I’m no kanji expert as some on here, I’ve never seen this “iki” reading and can’t find it on either Jisho or Japan Dictionary. The kun’yomi should just be “ki”, while the on’yomi is “ki” or “ke”.

Maybe someone with a deeper handle on kanji knows more?

1 Like

kanjipedia also marks the kunyomi of 気 as いき (non-jouyou reading) so I don’t think it’s a mistake, but I can’t think of any situation in which 気 is read いき… :thinking:

6 Likes

いき is the kunyomi reading you’ll find in Japanese kanji dictionaries. But it’s marked as an outside expression (i.e. uncommon, not on gov. list). There aren’t any common phrases using this reading that I can find. But, I would imagine, if you were talking about this kanji in a more abstract sense, or redefining it, it might come into play. Like, if you were writing a manga and everyone is born with a type of ESP that they call いき (気).

「気」の部首・画数・読み方・筆順・意味など (jitenon.jp)

All that to say, it’s correct, but more of historical or etymological interest. Not actually useful for language ability.

14 Likes

Hope it’s okay if I invite @TofuguJenny to have a look, right?

I think you’ve hit the nail on the head :slight_smile:

1 Like

Aye, I’d agree. That’s why I don’t think it would be useful to add to WK.