KaniManabu - Open Source WaniKani style SRS for macOS (Soon iOS)

KaniManabu is an open source WaniKani style SRS app primarily to study vocab and Kanji not covered by WaniKani.

Backstory

I decided to create this app a week ago after a month of starting WaniKani. I have been studying Japanese for about 10 years, but while I get most of the grammar, the Kanji still remains the most difficult part.

Also, I find Anki rather ineffective as I find myself tapping the show answer button and tap good and not actually remembering it. After a month of doing WaniKani lessons and reviews, I think typing the answer is more effective than the Anki method. I want to look for a solution that can reproduce the WaniKani experience, but locally hosted and no subscriptions since I already pay for too may subscriptions. I did look into the WaniKani Anki templates, but it still feels a bit too much like Anki and not user friendly needing to press the Again/Hard/Good/Easy button after typing the answer.

Moreover, I need to have something that allows me to control my data and works on my Apple devices. I looked at Kitsun, but it’s too expensive and subscription based. Torii doesn’t have an iOS app and I don’t want to use Java apps on my Mac, so I went to the DIY route.

As for developing the app, it’s surprising that I got something that works after a week of working on it. I started with the macOS It only took probably took me a few days to reproduce the SRS algorithm, deck/card management, and the review interface since I have macOS/iOS app developing experience. Of course, all the data is synced using iCloudKit with Core Data. Not only that, it took a lot of my free time developing this app.

What is KaniManabu