Japanese "R" in the Beginning of a Word vs in the Middle

I am new to Japanese, but have gotten a wast idea of how the pronunciation of the Japanese “R” is. I have watched Tofugus youtube video and some others as well. I have noticed that the “R” sound is kind of different when in the start of a word than when in the middle. For example, when saying six, ろく, or the “Rs” themself らりるれろ, the “R” sound a little more similar to the English “L”. However, when the R is in the middle of the word, for example circle, まる, it sound more like a rolling R sound (which isnt really in the English language as far as I know). I have never heard anyone talk about how the Japanese R differs based on this, but for me the differentiation seems important. Is this true?
If it is, then I think I manage to pronounce the R when it is in the beginning based on Tofugus video. When it is in the middle, I make a mix between an rolling R and a L with the tongue going upwards. Does this sound reasonable?
Thank you.

1 Like

Personally, I visualize the sound as basically a single flap of the rolled R. I.e. to make the rolled R sound, your tongue repeatedly slaps against the roof of your mouth, letting through air in between. Just a single one of those.

Its actually quite similar to a single ‘r’ in Spanish, like for example in ‘pero’ (but), not to be confused with the rolled ‘r’ in ‘perro’ (dog).

3 Likes