Japanese progress

it’s a stupid question i know, but i was wondering what - in average - level of japanese i should have acquired in 6 months time? i know it takes years of study, but i have no way of assessing if i making progress even if i’m supposed to be utter crap after only six months. what would you say? i’m studying let’s say an hour a day.

cheers.

n

Well, if you’re studying 1h per day for the last 6 months, you did more than 90% of people :slight_smile: Congratz!

How does your Japanese study look like? Anything that you think could be done better?

It really depends on you. Every single person will learn at a different rate. Some people just have a knack for some languages while others don’t. As an example, I picked up Japanese relatively quickly, but my friend did not. On the other hand, he picked up Latin extremely easily, and I struggled to make sense of it all.

If you don’t know any Japanese at all, you will have to start learning Hiragana and Katakana first. That should take you about two weeks to three weeks to learn well. After that, I would say grab Genki I and Genki II. Each book should take you three to four months to complete. If you have a knack for the language and finish the two Genki series with enough understanding, you would be at an N4 level proficiency in Japanese.

Are there any specific reasons for you wanting to learn Japanese in such a short term? Vacation? Business trip? JET program?

wiki says:

N1 3000–4800 hours
N2 1600–2800 hours
N3 950–1700 hours
N4 575–1000 hours
N5 325–600 hours

There’s people on here talking about going for the N3 after six months. Then there’s people like me. Over two years, and unsure if I passed the N5. It all depends. Time put in, natural ability, going at it alone vs with friends vs in a class, etc etc.

Yeahhh, just take that with a grain of salt.