Japanese Fluency

Hey people! I started learning Japanese and I already know about 100+ kanji, and I have a decent plan for getting more fluent when I accumulate more vocabulary and kanji.
I was just curious for people who are also learning or fluent-near fluent how they go/went about immersion and if they used anything besides WK. I plan to start immersion and grammar once I get a few hundred more kanji but I just wanna see what other people are doing.

2 Likes

This reminds me of this thread :laughing: Thinking about how much I’ve changed in these 2.5 months since I’ve started WK almost makes me feel old lol

10 Likes

I would suggest that (1) you don’t need to wait to start doing something alongside WK and (2) you absolutely need to be doing something alongside WK. WK teaches kanji and a bit of vocab, and you’ll need something for grammar and for the common vocab that WK doesn’t teach you because it’s prioritising reinforcing kanji readings instead. Personally I liked the textbook approach and then dipping into native materials once I had a basic grasp of the language; there are other ways to do it too.

6 Likes

Reading/watching shows/playing games + putting recurring new words into Anki to not forget their pronunciation, spelling and meaning.

One absolutely needs to. WaniKani is mostly for kanji.

The TLDR path is learning grammar until N4-N3 + 2+k basic vocabulary and then learning Japanese from context, but in a way that’s comprehensive and allows you to leverage what you already know.

5 Likes

This Jalup article always comes to mind when someone asks about reaching fluency in Japanse. The ever expanding forest of Japanese. What is fluency? When are you fluent enough? The answer will probably change as you keep studying.