Is this technically cheating or am i ok

so on tsukurame it allows me to write the on’yomi when i was suppose to write the kun’yomi and vice versa n lets me try again without counting as a wrong answer, but on the website it says im wrong when im suppose to write the kun’yomi and i write the on’yomi. is this tsukurame version cheating or am i ok.

also wanikani allows a retry when i guess the kanji as a vocab but not vice versa like tsukurame

2 Likes

It’s a function of Tsurukame although there is an argument to be made that WK could be more permissive in this regard.

In general, functions like that and the undo ability can be used well but you have to be careful not to abuse them. Just remember that the point of WK is to learn Kanji and not just to level up.

2 Likes

do you think me learning this way could possibly screw me up in the future as im now studying more on the grammar etc. when im attempting to form sentences

What? Are you talking about for vocab (not kanji)? If Tsurukame allows that kind of retry for vocab it’s just wrong.

7 Likes

Try it the hard way first for a few levels. Then you can better gauge whether it will be helpful to you or not.

1 Like

Yeah, are we sure this isn’t just the typical kanji/vocab thing? Just that someone attributed it to the apps behavior instead?

3 Likes

No, not like that. It allows all readings of a Kanji, so it will shake on secondary readings where WK is looking for a primary or most common reading.

For example, on 巧 it will shake on うま and たく and accept こう.

How is that different from the WaniKani website?

On the site, it just marks it incorrect without the shaking/warning.

1 Like

For example, on 上 kanji review, WK will shake on うえ but will mark it wrong if you put のぼ.

Tsurukame will shake on any of the readings listed that’s not the one WK expects (in bold):

But you do have to turn on the option to show all readings for the Kanji.