Is Kanji learning the hardest part of learning Japanese?

Hi there!

I’ve always believed that the Kanji would be the main challenge when learning Japanese. That’s why I have been prioritizing and devoting all of my Japanese study time to them. As a matter of fact, I haven’t started to learn any grammar besides the first few chapters of Genki I and the first book of Japanese from Zero. And for now, I don’t intend to continue with grammar until I reach at least LV20 in WK. (I used to be LV27 before restarting).

Somehow, I have the assumption that once I know enough Kanji, the rest will come easily. Am I mistaken? From what I’ve seen so far, the grammar doesn’t seem too hard. I speak 7 languages and I am a language teacher, so I usually grasp grammar very quickly. Also, some of the languages I know seem to have far more difficult grammar than Japanese (e.g. German or Croatian). However, Japanese is my first Asian language, so I might be mistaken. Maybe it gets reeeaaaally hard later on?

In any case, I’m curious to hear from advanced or proficient Japanese students whether Kanji was the hardest aspect of the language! Or did another aspect of the language cause more problems? (e.g. vocab in general, pronunciation, grammar)

11 Likes

It was until WK happened :raised_hands::grin:

45 Likes
  • Grammar - It’s a mess to study because it’s boring for most. I’m biased, but knowing the nuances between grammar points is important and underrated by most learners.

• Vocab: tons of words to learn. They simply don’t end. I’m sitting around 11k words and I feel like I need to learn at least 10k more to feel comfy.

• Reading - Not enough people do this (myself included). But to get used to the language and become fluent… we need to read… a lot.

• Writing - Most people are too shy to even go out there to find penpals/Japanese friends.

• Speaking - Wait… are we supposed to practice this? Hahahhahahahahhaha…