Is it possible to break Spaced Repetition?

I am new to WaniKani and to Spaced Repetition in general. So from what I understand, there is a Science behind putting things you’ve learned aside and coming back to them just before you forget them. It’s supposed to burn it into your long-term memory better, right?

Here’s my question, what if I keep hitting the Extra Study link in WK during my dead time, and I also utilize a WaniKani deck in Anki? Will that mess up the “just before you forget it” part, and sabotage my own learning?

8 Likes

Well you’re just creating more work for yourself.

SRS is just a way of getting something into memory with the shortest amount of work.

(You could review everything you know everyday and then you’d never forget but that’s just far too much work)

Time spent on extra study is, theoretically, wasted. Best spend that time studying something more fruitful like grammar or vocab, or just consuming native material.

8 Likes

Its wasted in theory, not in practice.

In theory, you would never get an SRS review wrong because you review them right before you forget them, but here we are.

If you have periods where you’re doing nothing and probably wouldn’t do other study, then its a whole lot better than nothing imo.

12 Likes

Short answer: no. The more repetition you do, the easier it is to remember something.

Long answer, it’s a bit more complicated.

SRS- is more about time-management really.

Traditionally, you do tons of repetition studying, and then a test. Then years later, you either remember some of that or you’ve completely forgotten. But, it’s a system that requires a lot of time devoted to intentional studying.