Is it normal to get so few reviews?

So I’m a bit new to WaniKani (just bought the Lifetime Subscription in the winter sale) and I was wondering whether it is normal to get so few reviews.

I consistently do my reviews within an hour of them becoming available and I spread them over the day so that I only do 5-10mins a session (avg, 3-5 sessions a day). Today, however, I’ve been going through a bit of a dry spell. I have completed four sessions of reviews today, but what’s weird is that each session has contained one kanji/vocabulary to review (discounting one 5 kanji session from the morning).

Is this something I should be worried about? Or does it simply compliment my memory? :joy:
Any help on the matter would be greatly appreciated!

2 Likes

The number of reviews you get is mostly dependent on how many items are still stuck in the lower SRS stages (Apprentice mostly). Doing lessons increases the load and causes you to get more reviews. So usually it’s possible to get at least a sizable workload.

It might be possible that you just lack 1 kanji or so before leveling up, in which case there are no lessons available and the reviews would slowly start to die down until you get the final kanji right.

Then again, Wanikani starts relatively slow, then picks up pace fast. I would say to enjoy the days with few reviews while you can, if you keep doing them you’ll eventually reach a point where you have so much work you’ll have to slow down. :grin:

7 Likes

I don’t think it would be that I am close to levelling up, I just levelled up to level 3 a day ago. It’s interesting because I completed WaniKani up to level 3 on another account before buying Lifetime like half a year ago, but I don’t remember it taking so long to receive a new batch of reviews.