Is Bunpro a Good Subtitute for Textbooks (such as Genki)?

I started learning a bit of grammar through Tae Kim’s guide to Japanese but then I found out about Bunpro from the WK forums so I started using that instead.

What I’m wondering is, is it okay to only use Bunpro for learning grammar or should I use Genki as well?

On a side note, I installed Anki not long ago but have only used it for math formula/terminology flashcards so far (trigonometry and linear algebra). Should I start making flashcards for Japanese sentences now or should I wait until I know more grammar? I’m only up to N5 page 3 on Bunpro.

3 Likes

Bunpro can be used instead of Genki but I feel that reading through Genki and using Bunpro as a supplement is the better way to go.

However Bunpro is awesome so if you want to exclusively use it I don’t see a reason why not.

10 Likes

Bunpro is mostly a aggregate of existing online resources. I find it helpful for finding learning resources for particular grammar points and to help me keep track of what I’ve learned so far.

I would recommend using a textbook to study as a beginner as you will be given more guidance along the way, perhaps using Bunpro to support your learning.

3 Likes

Personally I’m not a huge fan of Bunpro, but I wont deny its usefulness. If you like it, yeah it covers quite a bit of grammar and provides links to other sites with explanations. Personally I prefer just making flashcards with sentences that use grammar points as I come across them. Im already learning 40 words a day/reviewing past knowledge and reading for an hour or so, consequently I dont have much time for grammar. My way, in my opinion, is much more efficient as you are learning what you come across and learning it in a context that is familiar to you (assuming you understand what youre reading). This causes for the material to stick much better and requires less time to learn the same things.