I'm starting to look for new sources of learning

I’ve been using wanikani for almost two years now and I feel like it’s been a big factor in me maintaining my japanese learning regimine.
It keeps me on track, makes me feel obligated and rewarded for persistent study and dedication, and has made me feel confident when I use other programs to study grammar as I already know a lot of common kanji.
However, there’s two things I really don’t like about wanikani.

1. leveling up
    I really dislike feeling like I’m finally getting ontop of everything. I get 80% or more daily, finish all my reviews, ontop of my lessons, then I level up and I’m blasted with over 100 lessons.
    I get it, there’s a lot of material to cover, but it’s very frustrating to feel like I’m pushing Sisyphus’s boulder.

2. the mnemonics and complete lack of reasoning behind why a kanji is built the way it is.
    I’m very frustrated with how information is presented in this application. It really feels like the reason things are the way they are is of no importance, the only thing that matters is shoving the translation into my brain.
    I don’t work that way. I can remember things much more accurately if I can make connections between different pieces of information to grant a bigger picture.
    something like “oh this kanji has the moon radical in it, so it’s part of the _____ type of kanji, that means that it is probably this word” or something.

And I’m now realizing, and sending out this request, that I’m not actually learning anything about kanji, i’m just shoving the translations into my head.

I don’t want to ruffle any feathers or step on any toes, if this works for you and you love it then more power to you and I wish you all the luck in the world. But it’s really feeling not so great for me.