I'm "slow" at Wanikani, and I'm ok with it :D

I’ve been using Wanikani since the end of June 2022, and I’m currently on level 9. I do reviews every day, and lessons maybe every other day (sometimes more/less depending on how much free time I have). I like taking it slow because I don’t get overwhelmed by reviews and I can make sure I actually remember the words I’m learning. Is anyone else like me?? Lol, it’s weird because, I feel like a ton of people on here talk about finishing a level every 10 days, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing if that’s what works for you. But personally, I feel like I would be overwhelmed if I did that! Sometimes I feel pressured to do Wanikani “fast,” but I’ve realized that it’s totally fine to go through it more slowly. I made this post in case anyone else feels the same way :smile: What do you guys think??

55 Likes

While I’m against people going too fast I am not really against going slow sometimes, especially if its because your using your target language more. There is probably gonna come a time you want to pick it up a bit but until then just keep doing you.

7 Likes

When I first joined WaniKani, I tried to go fast, somewhere in the 7 to 10 day range per level. But, I got entirely burnt out somewhere in the teen levels, and started forgetting many things. I felt it would be better to rest and reset.

This time around, I’m going at a pace this seems to be around 15 days per level as well. Though, I somehow jumped from Level 8 to Level 9 a bit faster than that. It was a bit surprising/jarring (in a good way…).

So, I get it. And, I agree. You should definitely go at a pace that is neither too slow, nor too fast: your Goldilocks pace, so-to-speak.

4 Likes

There’s this thread that might interest you

14 Likes