I'm I supposed to review before.. the review?

Hello,
I’m still at level 3 so I’m pretty new here and wanted to ask this, I’m I supposed to go over stuff that I expect to come in a review soon or not ? at level 3 stuff that I raised to guru are coming back in the reviews and I’m getting a lot of them wrong and it’s really frustrating so I was wondering if I’m doing anything wrong

1 Like

Howdy friend!
I’m pretty new to this as well. Speaking from my short experience here, it seems that a little review before the reviews goes a long way towards memorization. Specifically, it helps me to write down the ones I get wrong often in a little sketchbook that i carry with me everywhere. That way, I can casually look over them during idle time out and about or at work. I hope this helps you. It really helps me to write them down. Yes, it takes longer this way but the physicality of the action can really help memorization. Plus, kanji is so artistic and fun to write. Keep at it! You can do this!! Getting the kanji wrong is part of the way the SRS system will help you. You’ll see those kanji more often and have them down before you know it.

1 Like

It’s totally normal to get things wrong. It simply means you haven’t memorized the material well enough. This is an indication that you should review and study those you get wrong more. There’s no need to “review” before a review, but you should study what you got wrong in a review, after the review session.
This is my suggestion.

6 Likes

I suppose you can review things as much as you’d like. At the same time though, probably shouldn’t be necessary… and as you get further into WK there will be so much content in the mix that I think it’d be really difficult to manage extra reviews on top of what WK is already expecting!

I think the best thing to do is to diagnose what you’re getting wrong and why. Is it completely random? More one thing or another? (Meanings vs readings, radicals vs kanji vs vocabulary). Are you using mnemonics?