If you were to only buy ONE book

I’m on a budget. I’m loving wanikani although it’s very early days. I’ve bought a variety of random Japanese language books over the years, but the only one that’s held my attention is “Japanese from Zero” as it’s kind of interactive.

My Japanese class (years ago) used ‘Japanese for Busy People” and it bores me senseless.

I am very easily distracted and bored by blocks of text (ADHD ftw!). I mainly see posts/comments about Genki or Minna no Nihongo - are they interesting or fun at all?

Basically, what book have you found MOST valuable for learning Japanese? And… is it engaging??

Thanks!!

Edit: also just looked up genki package (textbook and workbook) on Amazon and it’s $100 :sob::money_with_wings:

:heart:

7 Likes

Genki is awesome for N5-N4 Level, so if I was a beginner I would definitely buy Genki 1. If it’s too expensive, maybe try to find secondhand ones. Tae Kim is another option, his content is literally free on the Internet.

Now that I’m somewhat intermediateish, I would only buy Dictionary of Intermediate Japanese Grammar or Dictionary of Advanced Japanese Grammar. I’m nosedeep into these books for about an hour everyday. Whether they are engaging or not is all up to one’s attitude to learning.

1 Like

If you liked Japanese From Zero, why don’t you just stick with that?

10 Likes

One book doesn’t necessarily cut it. Genki is light on exercises in the main text book, so you’re best served picking up the accompanying workbook to get additional practice. Minna no Nihongo would be a struggle if you didn’t buy the translation book to go with the main book.