How much can you "pile on" when it comes to grammar structures that seem to be endlessly pile-able?

Hello everyone !

I have been using Wanikani for a few months now, and started getting a little bit more into grammar as of late. I’m a complete beginner and at this point have pretty much no ear for what sounds right and what sounds awkward when building a more complex sentence than me want potty.
Now my question is, considering how many different grammar structures have a pattern of agglutinating to another grammar structure, just how far could you go with this, and whether there are actually rules about how much is too much ? I’m very curious.
Here is an example of what I mean:

食べ始めやすくなりたくなかった

In my head this would mean “I didn’t want it to become easy to begin to eat”

Could this work grammatically ? Is it awkward because of too much accumulation ? Is it complete gibberish ?

Thank you

3 Likes

That looks gramattically correct to me, but I couldn’t for the life of me think of when you’d use that :joy:

Piling on more conjugations and auxiliary verbs than you’re used to is something you need to get used to in Japanese. It’s not something English does in quite that way, but in essence the phrase “didn’t want it to become easy to begin to eat” is no less complex than 食べ始めやすくなりたくなかった, the spaces just make it look that way - you still have a bunch of auxiliary verbs and such that modify each other in various ways to arrive at a single concept.

I think this is a bit like the “keep tacking on words to make a new word” thing you have in languages like Dutch. You can theoretically do it forever and end up with a word like fietsventieldopjesfabrikantenhoofdkwartierbeheerdersparkeerplaatsbewakingscamera (the security camera guarding a parking space for the manager of a bicycle tyre valve manufacturer’s headquarters) but there’s definitely a point where that becomes unnatural to do (like with that word… nobody says that).

8 Likes