How is that answer incorrect? Or have I lost my marbles

The WK’s correct reading for the word ビー玉 is びーだま.
But I thought that all readings are supposed to be written in hiragana. Then why びいだま is an incorrect answer?
I feel like I’m missing something crucial here and that this is actually a really dumb question :confused:

I’m sorry but I’m fairly new to WK //and Japanese itself//. I’ll be level 4 in a few days but honestly I don’t know if I should buy a subscription?
Even though the first 3 levels are supposed to be slow, I already have a hard time remembering stuff and I’m constantly mistaking one kanji for another. Sometimes I can’t even recall readings for numbers. And don’t get me started on all those kanji containing 刀 radical. :scream:

I would love to be able to speak in Japanese but I feel like I’m just too stupid to learn a new language :disappointed:
As far as I know it only gets worse and there are more and more similar-looking kanji later on. How do you guys handle that?

Alright this post kinda turned into a rant but the question remains - how do I know if I have a chance at WK? Especially since I’m not a native English speaker :no_mouth:
And what about that god-forsaken「ー」in「ビー玉」?

//please help a poor soul I’m struggling//

4 Likes

You just need to include a “-” in there

So you’d type it like “bi-dama” (which shows as びーだま)

WaniKani doesn’t want the extra い in there, just a regular dash :slightly_smiling_face:

6 Likes

It’s supposed to be written in katakana, but WK will let you input in hiragana, still ビイ玉 wouldn’t be valid so you need to use the slash. Katakana reading can be typed in hiragana (in WK), but you need to input a slash for long vowels.

4 Likes

ビーだま is the only correct answer.
びーだま is accepted only out of convenience.
びいだま is wrong since it does not use the correct character.