How far can I go with my current self-study plan?

Hello community! First time posting here~ :crabigator:
I’m a newbie in the realm of language acquisition… but through the power of effort, memes and anime, I shall triumph over the pro-crass tin nation and persevere with due diligence.
But to be honest, once I complete my current study plan, I don’t have a grasp of the true extent that my abilities will reach with just these resources. I wanted to see if anyone who has attained fluency or near-fluency from the ground up could give me some idea as to what the logical next steps could be. I doubt these are sufficient for my goal.

My main goal in studying Japanese is solid reading/listening comprehension, but I hope that someday I can hone my conversational skills with a study partner or something similar. Basically, I’d love to be able to be able to consume Japanese media and continue to satisfy my somewhat irrational fascination with language learning that compels me to no end.

My current objectives are:
Completion of all WK material + Kaniwani to reinforce it
Memorization of the complete 10K vocab via Torii
Mastery of all grammar points within Bunpro.jp
Learning to scribe each kanji as I learn it
And sentence flashcards via Anki

I like these goals because it’s very easy to feel progress with digital modules and SRS programs. Conversely I somewhat dislike working with textbooks, they bring out my inner laziness for some reason… but I’ll try not to be close minded
I know that my abilities will most likely plateau somewhere if I rely solely on these sources, so I’d love to hear some feedback.
Thanks for your time!

8 Likes

Hi! Welcome to WaniKani!