How do you get the drive to study outside of SRS?

I’ve loved the option for SRS platforms. Learning content through wanikani and bunpro really helped me start to shoot forward in my progress with the Japanese language, but I find that I can never apply what I’ve learned for the obvious reason that I don’t read any real Japanese. Like I try to look at NHK or read something I enjoy like manga I bought from Japan, but everytime I try I still feel the same as when I was a newbie to learning the language; I get stuck on stuff I don’t understand and give up.

Any time I try to convince myself to read/listen to Japanese I repeat the same steps of trying, not comprehending, and then giving up. It certainly is nice that I can read a lot of the kanji thrown out, and I even recognize some of the grammar that is in some more complex sentences, but I never get the full understanding of a sentence, and it’s really frustrating. Simple content like the graded learners are too easy, and native content is too much for me to parse. I even tried to join book clubs and I still don’t find myself having the motive to try and keep up.

I’m sure I’m not alone in this, so I figured I would ask the community what they would do. Currently the only situation I see myself getting any tangible reading actually done is to lock myself in a room with nothing but a book and a dictionary, but that isn’t much of a viable option in everyday life. How can I force myself to stick with reading to the point that I can improve my comprehension skills? How do I keep myself from giving up the moment I find a sentence I don’t understand?

(It might help to note that I suffer from ADD, so that may be a factor that’s making it harder than usual to keep my focus)

10 Likes