After finishing HJ, should I start reading from the absolute beginner book club?

Not sure if this belongs here or in reading, so apologies if I put this in the wrong spot. I just saw that the reading section seemed to be mostly book discussions, so I figured this might fit better here.

I’ve been learning Japanese for about a year now, and my pace has been fairly slow due to real life and accidentally resetting Anki’s SRS halfway through. I recently finished going through Human Japanese and have started on the sequel app, which probably puts me nearish to N5 but perhaps not the whole way there.

I’ve lurked a lot on a learning Japanese subreddit and sometimes on here, and I’ve seen a lot of people say that you should start reading around N4 level. However, there’s an absolute beginner book club on Wanikani that says it’s for people around an N5 level, which made me super interested since I’m pretty impatient to start getting into immersion. But looking at the books for it is intimidating and makes me wonder if I should wait until I finish Human Japanese Intermediate first, which I think takes you to around N4. I might be impatient, but I also don’t want to be having to look up every single word in every sentence I read.

So far, I’ve checked out Dragon Ball SD, kitty/doggy detectives, Yotsubato, and Chi’s Sweet Home, as well as a Studio Ghibli graphic novel (it doesn’t have a book club but I’ve seen Studio Ghibli novels recommended for new learners). Yotsubato or Chi’s Sweet Home seemed the easiest, but they also had a ton of unfamiliar words and grammar, and the stuff I did know I didn’t recognize because it was turned into baby talk. It doesn’t help I’ve only recently begun learning plain form verbs, since I started on the polite form.