How and when to use anki decks?

Hello everyone,
I’m trying to stockpile more vocab knowledge, to reach a level where I can start identifying the words that occur frequently.
Most of the people are pretty happy with Anki decks for this. 3 most popular versions to this are: 2k,6k,10k. Being a beginner, I picked up the 2k deck and started with it.

However, there are just too many unreadable kanjis that I’m unaware of.
I’m somewhat able to recall the words if they are in kana form, or the sound pronunciation is given.
But when the kanji form is thrown at me, I’m just completely clueless.

My question is, what did you people do?
Am I trying to attempt these decks too early on? Would it be better if I returned to them at a higher level of WaniKani? If so, then what would be optimal starting level

Any tips, advice, and suggestions are greatly welcome

Wanikani will get you 8000 very useful words. At level 7, the workload has not yet gotten very large. But it will likely get to 200-300 reviews per day. See What level to get 200+ reviews each day? - #16 by bolaurent.

I think you should just stick to wanikani, and meanwhile work on grammar (which wk does not teach you). Soon enough, WK will have you busy enough.

2 Likes

Okay, great! Thanks a lot!

Consider https://kitsun.io/, it’s a far better platform to Anki IMO with an input format similar to WK. They also have 10k plus any Anki import, super easy Jisho card generation among many other things. Check out the community decks they have as well.

6 Likes

So, I’ve been (slowly, see bolaurent’s comments about being busy) working on the Core 2k6k deck and the Tango N5 deck.

The Tango deck is so easy and gentle it’s not a lot of trouble so just do that one in order.

Core can be daunting when you don’t know the kanji, though.