Hobbling Across the Finish Line, but Finished

Welp. I did it.

Let me paint a different strategy from the stereotypical one frequently shared and referenced about with level 60 reflection posts.

What would you do if starting out you knew that you wouldn’t have a set schedule you could expect to always be able to learn, review, and level up (because of family life, career, etc.) AND you knew the longer it took for you to finish WaniKani the greater the chance would be that you would run into some kind of snafu and never finish?

That’s what I faced. I am a teacher, have three kids, and am heavily involved with my church. Additionally (as I’ve learned over the past year or so with my kids’ diagnoses) I probably am slightly dyslexic and possibly have some ADD tendencies.

As you can see from my chart, I wasn’t terribly consistent. But, I was diligent. What this doesn’t show, and what is very much looked down on since it goes against the system, is how much I relied on scripts as a crutch to get through all the material. I treated WaniKani as an introduction-and-whatever-more to the 8,000+ items. I did the WaniKani SRS method as best I was able, knowing myself and my situation. I tried to learn it all the right way, whenever it seemed prudent with time and accuracy. But, it was quickly obvious to me that if I did it the pure SRS method all the way then I would need 5+ years to get through the 60 levels. And I knew there was no chance I’d be able to stick with taking up all my free time for that long. So, I had to judge on a review-by-review basis how heavy I would rely on skipping a wrong answer. Then, after I had progressed out of Apprentice I would allow myself to fail in Guru, etc., so that I kept progressing and ideally kept mastering the items.