Half halfway through

Disclamer

For some reason, I feel like this is an important milestone for me, so I’ll talk about it here. Feel free to walk away if you don’t care, I won’t hold a grudge.

I’ve been dedicating my life to the Crabigator since August 9, 2017, and 5 months and 9 days later, I hit level 16, which means I’ve been through the first quarter of WaniKani.

How it all started

I can’t find the words to tell how satisfied I am with WaniKani. For a few years, I’ve been trying to get started with Japanese, but I always gave up after a few days/weeks. For some reason, this summer, I gave it another try, and came across WaniKani. While doing the free levels, I realized it was already working: I wanted to progress and learn more than the last times. I searched for additional resources online and even bought a grammar textbook. Naturally, when done with the free levels, I subscribed and kept on going.

How it’s been like

Pretty smoothly, I must say. I’ve been maintaining a steady rate since the beginning, and I hope it will stay that way. See the diagrams below.

Time per level

Items per SRS level

Note: The “Enlightened” line is pretty inaccurate in the beginning: I didn’t start enlightening items right off the bat.

Guru'd items

I don’t use a reorder script, partly because I’m afraid of getting flooded by lessons, and partly because I want to take my time with the vocabulary, since WaniKani is my main source of learning new words for now.

I usually do 10 to 25 lessons per day, depending on the kind of lessons, which means that I usually have 40 to 100 items in Apprentice at all times. I also keep an eye on my leech count, thanks to the awesome SRS levels script.

Oh, and first burns are coming up for review on February 1, so there is that too. I don’t know if I’m excited about it or if I’m worried about the additional work load. I guess I’ll see as I keep going.

Hopes and worries