Feeling Discouraged :(

I’ve been studying Japanese for about 2 years. I took one class in college a looong time ago. And then I decided to pick it up again 2 years ago.

So this past spring/summer, I went to Japan for 3 months, going to school to learn the language, and travel. I started at lesson 5 and was able to finish Genki I, and then did some of Genki II. I had such a great time when I was there, but at the same time I felt like maybe I should have progressed further? I’ve been back to home for 2 months now and I’ve felt like I’ve regressed :frowning: When I came back, people said to me, “Your Japanese must be so good now!”, and when I hear that I feel so discouraged, because it’s not. I resumed my weekly classes that I’ve been taking back home, and am having a lot of difficulty speaking, and remembering even simple things, things that I should already know! As a result, my confidence has plummeted. I think I just need to practice more, but I’m feeling pretty crappy about everything lol.

Anyways, is there any tips you guys do to help boost your morale as you go through this journey? What do you do when you feel discouraged?

Thanks!

3 Likes

When I feel discouraged because I think I am going too slow I remember how hard and different is Japanese from my lenguaje (spanish) and even I am no that good in english but the best website that I found for this are in English. So, I have to give me some credit for that xP

Mainly remember how hard is japanese, I mean, if you are not a genius It will be hard, you just have to keep doing. I dont now how often do you study but, If you do it every day, that makes the difference.

I think that regressing if you haven’t practiced using the language for a little while is normal!
I definitely also experience a lot of slumps in my Japanese studies and progression so I relate to this a lot.