Dropping recognition out of vocab decks?

TL;DR
An SRS question to those who have been using a vocab deck with “word in English” <> “pronunciation in Japanese” notes. Have you tried reviewing only recall cards (English > Japanese), thus excluding the recognition ones? (Japanese > English) On the long run, have you found that useful enough? If you did, is their something you have been doing that have helped compensate with the lack of “recognition” reviews? :thinking:

’Waaay to long’ version! (*if you have a bit more time to spare… If so, I would love hearing your thoughts on my daily routine :slight_smile: *)

I have been learning Japanese for 2 years, mostly through evening classes. Reading about SRS on Tofugu, I have adopted Anki quite early during my Japanese studies. Anki has been of tremendeous help for retaining knowledge on the short and long run.

So far, I have been using Minna No Nihongo as my main source for vocab, grammar and exercises. After much experimentation, I ended up with the following way of injecting the knowledge from the book into my Anki deck:

• Vocab: for each vocab of a chapter, I add 1 note with the English word + 1-2 tiny examples on one side, and the correspondance in Japanese on the other side. This note becomes 2 cards, one for recall (English > Japanese) and one for recognition (Japanese > English). I always include furigana, since I intend to learn kanjis through Wanikani (is there any other way? :crabigator:)
  • Grammar: for each grammar point, I have 1 recall-only ‘rule’ note (“How to…?” > grammatical structure), and 2 recall-only notes of examples (sentence in english > sentence in japanese with furigana). I guess this generates 30-40 grammar cards per chapter?