Don't Forget Pronunciation

Hey there!

To my fellow Japanese enthusiasts and language learners, I thought I’d share something that’s been on my mind in recent months:

I don’t think pronunciation gets enough focus. I’m not an expert on Japanese or pronunciation, but I studied linguistics, with a special interest in phonetics. So I’m not completely ignorant, either. I’m currently teaching English in Japan for JET, and my experience has highlighted some important things:

1. The Japanese and English languages have quite different sound vocabularies.

2. English pronunciation is significantly more difficult for Japanese-speakers than Japanese pronunciation is for English-speakers.

3. Like kanji, grammar, listening, or vocabulary, we should practice pronunciation intentionally.

Maybe these are obvious to you. Maybe you disagree. I don’t know your life. But I’ll explain anyways. I will also oversimplify complicated phonological and phonetic concepts. A lot.

1.) Sound Vocabularies

Japanese has only 5 vowels. English has about 15, depending on your dialect (I’m West Coast American, forgive my bias). So, to speak native-ish Japanese, we need to limit our vowel vocabularies. I’ll give a few examples.

The vowel in “cat” is written in International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) as [æ]. This sound doesn’t normally occur in Japanese. Instead, Japanese has a deep “ahh,” closer to the vowel in “car.” That means, we need to learn to always pronounce あ like “car.” Always. So “hamburger” (ハンバーガー) becomes Hahm-bah-gah. Yikes, that spelling looks gross.