Donate cash for a wanikani userscript game :-)

I’ve been dreaming of a simple listening game for wanikani, but I don’t have time or experience to make the userscript myself. (I was a UI developer for 15 years but no longer, and javascript was never my expertise)

But, I’d be happy to donate $222 if someone else wants to take on a fun wanikani script project. Any takers? :slight_smile:

In short, I’m looking for a fast guessing game using the Self-Study Quiz filters but different user interaction.

I want to use it for 2 things… (but it could be used for much more)

1. Rapid listening practice for “Recent Reviews” (in past 3 hours)
  2. Rapid listening practice for “Leeches”

User interaction would look like this…

For each item which matches the filter

• Play the audio
  • Display an A/B quiz (one correct, one incorrect answer)
  • Show 2 second countdown

User has 2 seconds to guess the answer (using keyboard shortcuts)

• Visual/audio feedback indicates correct, incorrect, timeout (i.e, green/red/yellow or bing/buzz/silence)
  • If correct, item is removed from queue.
  • If incorrect or timeout, item is bumped a few items down the queue
  • if timeout, correct answer is also highlighted briefly (i.e. 1/4 sec) before moving on

Game immediately shows/plays the next item, and continues at rapid pace until all items have been answered correctly (even if it takes many times for some items).

None of this has any affect on user’s wanikani data. It’s just a fun way to get used to listening and quickly answering.

Implementation Notes

a. The incorrect item shown could be either a random item from the same filter or a related word. It probably doesn’t matter that much. The goal isn’t to provide a difficult challenge, but rather to train the brain to speedily go from “listen” to “understand”.

b. the interaction was inspired by iKnow Rapid Quiz