Does anyone say muscat?

So when I started learning Japanese, I was taught the Japanese for green grape was マスカット. And this was fine, red grape was ぶどう and green grape was マスカット.

However since moving to Japan, I have discovered that while Japan loves to plaster English everywhere, they use “muscat” in place of “green grape”. And looking up マスカット in English on google, all the results say “muscat”. What’s up with this? I understand muscat is a variety of green grape, but English speakers don’t actually say muscat when talking about green grapes, do they?

I’m an ALT and I’ve had an English teacher shocked to find out that there’s a difference word in English that we use. I get using “muscat” on Japanese things in Japan since the English isn’t there for English speakers half the time anyway, but it definitely seems wrong on anything targeted at English speakers.

Is muscat a word the average English speaker would be familiar with?

and no, I don’t mean the capital of Oman

9 Likes

I, too, learned “muscat” from living in Japan.

It’s not that shocking for it to have ended up that way (that マスカット is the word they use), though.

Also not shocking that they don’t know the word most English speakers use. They’re not English speakers.

10 Likes

I’m not blaming Japanese people, I moreso was just wondering if I was crazy for not knowing this word. Kind of feels like I’m being gaslit by Japan, seeing perfect English written on things, and then the word “muscat” like it’s some regional thing.

It’s probably just one of many examples though.

6 Likes

Muscat isn’t used to my knowledge. We just call them grapes or green-grapes etc if a colour needs to be used for context.

4 Likes

Interesting…hasn’t heard this is how it was used in Japan… this is a specific type of grape when used in English… Often you’ll find them here in California as sweet (not dry) as dessert wines…but there are many ways to make wine…and can be dry or sweet…