Does anybody see WK as a mobile video game?

So I play a game called Final Fantasy Möbius on the JP servers. It’s sort of the reason why I went back to WK despite several years of Japanese study. I’m an upper intermediate student, but going through WK reminded me very much of a mobile game.

So when you first start, it’s like you’re a level one noobie. You don’t have any weapons or utility, and your “stamina” system is pretty low. As such you’re forced to wait and do tutorials.

However, every couple of hours you can come back and grind some more. As you increase your levels (knowledge), the game opens up and suddenly you have a lot more to do.

Basically, I just found it entertaining how much similarity this system has to a mobile game. Heck if someone made WK into a mobile game I’d probably play it. Gotta slash up those Kanji.

Yes, we’ve talked much about how Wanikani has a certain gamified aspect to it. Though many of us try not to view it as that. Otherwise it can become more about leveling up and less about language learning.

It definitely has well-suited aspects. I’m not sure if you’ve heard of the concept or not, but there’s a technique/phenomenon called gamification that plays on the fact that humans like to see numbers go up. We associate it with progress. That’s why so many people will grind in videogames, haha. Gotta max out that level!

The PR/advertising industries like to cash in on this by giving out rewards points and promising free stuff you can buy with your points (woohoo, you just hit 100 points because you ate there 20 times, time to go get one small item free!) but it’s also a powerful force for habit building. There’s a place called Habitica where you can set yourself to-do lists ranging from “do the dishes” to “run a marathon” and set an amount of points you think is fair for the task. You can then use your points to buy armor and such in the RPGish portion of the game.