Do You Actually Remember Low Level Kanji and Vocab?

I’m just curious, for those of you who are high level (or I guess higher level), like 10/20/30 etc. Do you actually remember all the lower level kanji and vocab? For example if you’re level 40, can you recall the lvl 20 kanji and vocab instantly or does it take a fair bit of time/do you have to go back and relearn them?

One of my fears is that as I progress I’m going to forget a lot of the vocab and kanji that I’ve learned all the way down here. That’s why I’m taking it slow, I really want to ingrain those kanji to make sure they really stick. I’m worried if I do 10-15 kanji in one day that I’ll forget a lot of them and not progress as smoothly.

4 Likes

Once you start reading native material (the sooner the better; we have book clubs!), you’ll see many of the lower-WK level kanji/vocabulary often.

I do have some kanji at levels 5, 6, 7, and 9 that I’m not good at recognizing, and more as the levels go up.

17 Likes

I can’t go and like, list everything I’ve learned from a level. “Oh, I learned such and such at level 1, this at level 2, etc., etc.”

But, primarily thanks to reading along with the book clubs @ChristopherFritz mentioned, as well as doing a large amount of reading on my own, I find that I’ve not had much problem remembering most of the lower level kanji/vocabulary.

The big thing with any language is that if you don’t use it, you’ll lose it. With kanji, that means doing reading (even if it’s just with furigana to start, since early on you’ll run into a lot of vocabulary and kanji you don’t know. Heck, I still regularly come across kanji I’ve never seen/rarely seen before as I read, since WK doesn’t teach everything, just a lot).

9 Likes

I was going to say yes, but it’s not because of WaniKani. I actually struggled when it came to old stuff, though of course I burned my fair share.

It’s because of learning the words with WK, but being exposed to them in media.

6 Likes