Differences between animals

Hi!

Last night I couldn’t sleep so, as it is normal, I started thinking about weird existencial doubts…

I know in Japanese there’s no distinction between gender and number, but I was wondering if there were any exceptions with animals. Like in English, there’s mostly no difference either, but then you have ‘doe’ and ‘stag’ or ‘dog’ and ‘bitch’ or ‘cow’ and ‘bull’, etc etc

My knowledge about Japanese is still limited, sorry if it can sound a bit stupid question :pray:

1 Like

There are prefixes used for some animals, at least: 雄犬 (male dog) / 雌犬 (female dog). But someone else will have to answer how often and in what context they’re used, and which animals take those prefixes. Most of the time you just see 犬.

6 Likes

There are some. I’m not really an expert on animals, but ハイタカ and コノリ are, respectively, female and male sparrowhawks (though I think you can use ハイタカ to refer to either one). There’s also 青ベラ and 赤ベラ for a male and female kind of fish.

Sometimes kun readings can be the same, but the gender differentiation comes from the kanji used. Like 鴦 and 鴛 (おしどり) or 凰 and 鳳 (おおとり).

3 Likes

As a native English speaker, ‘bitch’ is considered a swear word. Not saying you’re wrong, because that is what it means, but please don’t go around calling people’s pets bitches!

3 Likes

Depending on the owner they’ll do it for you. Although I mostly hear it used by professional breeders.

11 Likes

According to my Japanese teacher and his Japanese wife at least 雌の and 雄の are the more common way to phrase it.

2 Likes

Well, everything is about context. The equivalent word is also a swear in my language but it hear it quite often especially from dog owners. No one should get offended.

5 Likes