Coping with motivation

Hi! I wanted to share my experience with Japanese learning and ask if anyone else’s is similar. I’d like to clarify here that when I say I struggle with motivation, it isn’t that I struggle with motivating myself to learn Japanese. In fact, I love it when I’m studying Japanese with an enjoyable, easy to follow along with application with an easy UI such as WaniKani or Duolingo. But that’s kind of the issue.

I find it really difficult to motivate myself to follow along with learning methods like immersion wherein you make note of words that you don’t recognise and put them into Anki (UI causes me pain, could not tell you why, doesn’t feel all that accessible), or studying from a textbook (I imagine studying with a teacher from iTalki or something to that effect would help me, but that’s not financially viable at the moment)

Does anyone have any suggestions, either learning applications that I might find more accessible or ways of coping with learning through methods that struggle to keep my motivation?

(I’d like to note that I also know of Bunpro and that seems good but I don’t currently have the money to subscribe, and Busuu which I have a similar problem with. Busuu in particular was wonderful when I had a free membership so I’d love to buy that back. Miss it so much. I’ve never seen it spoken about in here but I love it to bits.)

4 Likes

It’s something of a slow burn and you don’t immediately start seeing them, but what really gave me motivation to keep studying was seeing results. When you read a text out in the wild and can actually understand what it says… honestly what else can be said? It’s amazing.

5 Likes