Concerned to forget words until I can start to read some books

Hey there

First, I’m not a native english speaker so I’m not very good at it, but I hope you will understand my question anyway.

I started with WaniKani in December last year, so I`m a complete beginner.
Learning japans is very important to me and that’s the reason I want to do it carefully which means that I make sure to bring all vocabulary words to the guru level bevor I start with the next level.

My problem is that want to start reading some beginner books as soon as possible so that the kanji and vocabulary can stick in my long term memory and I can improve. I also started to learn some grammar.
In another guide in this forum, I read that it’s highly recommended to start with the reading at level 11.

With the pace I have, it will probably take some months until I reach this level. I’m concerned that I will forget a lot of kanji and vocabulary until I reach this level.

Do you have any tips on what I should do?
Or is my concern unjustified?

4 Likes

You should start reading anyway, the lvl 11 recommendation says that it is much easier to focus on grammar for example when you don’t have to look up every second word. If you have no problem with learning kanji+vocab+grammar sentence-by-sentence when they come up while reading, no reason to wait.

Also, it sounds like you wait an additional week while doing vocab only … The SRS will make sure you see words you have problems with more often, so you could go faster through WK (at least not months until level 11).

3 Likes

I don’t think you will forget most kanji by level 11, and even if you do, you’ll relearn them with Wanikani’s SRS, and you can also just look them up while reading, no shame in that.
Though it’s true reading practice can also be helpful early on. You could just try reading a bit of Yotsuba, there will be enough volumes for you to read throughout your learning journey.

4 Likes