Checking card info during reviews

Is it okay to check card info data during the review session?

Sometimes I remember the meaning but not the reading. I check the card information after getting the reading correct. Once the card for the meaning comes am I supposed to fail it on purpose?

Sounds confusing sorry
For example:

Meaning:
Oh this means turtle.
Can’t remember the reading for this
Let me check the card info
Oh it’s かめ. I knew that.

Few seconds later

Well now I know the reading is かめ because I checked the card information earlier
Should I fail it on purpose?

I’m sure this was asked already. I’m a bad researcher.
:durtle_megane:

6 Likes

If you continue doing this. Your problem will become very clear when you start reading but you don’t know how to read them properly. However, you feel like you know what it is but wait… how to read this?

I cheated the same way as you with Kitsun before and I found it really hard to read aloud a native material.

1 Like

I think you should fail it because you actually did fail in recalling the reading. Else you’ll destroy the whole point of the SRS.

2 Likes

If you didn’t remember, you didn’t fully know it. You were only familiar with it.

Reviews aren’t a grading system. They serve only to help the system determine if you need a little more practice on an item. Giving the system a false sense of whether you need more practice will only reduce how well you learn.

6 Likes

I used to make myself say the reading + meaning on a word before checking info since that would let me know to manually mark something wrong if needed.

Using a script for 1x1 mode (keep siblings together in kitsun) kind of sidesteps the issue since I can just finish a pair before checking any info I want. Personally I don’t find the “interleaving” all that valuable for the amount of effort it wastes, but some people swear by it.

2 Likes

8 Likes