Cassie's Study Log: キャシーの学習ログ。

Hi everyone! My name is Cassie! Welcome to my study log! Under the cut is my obligatory introduction about why I started learning Japanese!

You must be really bored if you’re reading this. You silly Durtle, you.

I started my dive into Japanese language fairly recently, in August 2020. My goal was to learn enough to get by during solo travel and eventually for work purposes. Unfortunately, my travel plans were waylaid by COVID-19 shutdowns, but now I’ll just know that much more when I’m finally there! As for work, I am a scientist and hope to do my postdoctoral studies in Japan! Since middle school (many, many dark years ago), my best friend and I have always dreamed of living abroad, and Japan just happens to be our shared top destination. She has visited many times and loves it very much. I, on the other hand, have not been able to travel internationally yet, but Japan is #1 on the list! The goal of my first visit is to see everything, eat everything, and figure out if I could actually picture myself living there for 2-3+ years.

I’m not very good with self-motivation, so I have a Japanese language teacher that I work with every week for an hour. I actually started using WaniKani in September 2019 at her recommendation. We follow the Genki lessons plans, but she often gives me more contextual knowledge about the topics and keeps me updated with current events going on in Japan. If you can afford it, I definitely recommend learning with a real teacher vs. self-learning.

Lastly, feel free to comment on here. Eventually I want the whole study log to be in Japanese, so if you notice I’ve typed something incorrectly or you have something cool to share, I’d love to hear it! Or, if you just want to say hi, that’s cool too!