Brute Forcing My Way Through Web Novels

My Japanese level is around N4, and I’m currently 1,400 vocabulary into Core 2k (and know about 2,000 words total). I know the meanings of 400-500 kanji, and I can read vocabulary using a hundred or so more. I figured it was time to start reading, since I’ve done very little of that since I started learning Japanese, and I’m quickly heading into intermediate Japanese.

What I tried starting with was web novels, though I’ve heard that they’re generally recommended for N3 learners.

This was the one I tried reading:
http://ncode.syosetu.com/n5708cr/1/

I ended up with 80 words I didn’t know by the end of it. What I want to ask is if it’s a good idea to go through a chapter every day (3,000-4,000 characters) and end up with 80 foreign words added to my vocabulary list. Is that too much, or is that closer to the best I’m gonna get?

Of course, after the few chapters, I’m sure the unknown vocabulary words will quiet down, because generally, there are typically only a few thousand unique vocabulary words in every novel, assuming we’re not talking about Ulysses or Lolita (which are around 20,000-30,000 words). http://www.mine-control.com/zack/guttenberg/

Manga would probably be easier to read because it’s mostly dialogue (hence greatly lacking descriptive words), but I’m interested in reading this web novel because I quite like it. I’m just wondering if it’ll be good for improving my reading ability, because of all the words I’ll have to look up.

Opinions?

Depends on how much free time you have. I used to do around 50 words a day and its maintainable if you have a lot of free time, but I cant really say for 80. 80 seems like a bit much, but just because I cant do it doesnt mean someone else cant.