Beginner bl manga

Im in Japan now for some time and was thinking about getting myself some BL manga but I am still a beginner. Are there any recommendations?

1 Like

check those N4 manga

I recommend to go to book-off, they are really cheap, once I saw hokuto no ken entire collection for 500yen.

If you buy at least 2 or 3 volume sof some of those collection in the link I think would be a great start.

I only saw a handful of BL in there, and they’re not very famous…

I wished I could give good recs, but most BL manga I’ve read has still been translated and the non-translated ones, weren’t beginner level, i.e. like 囀る鳥は羽ばたかない. That one is great and I suggest buying it, but don’t expect to be able to read it right now. Save if for future enjoyment. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Have you read some of the classics by Yugi Yamada? Like 最後のドアを閉めろ! (Close the Last Door) among many others? She’s a pretty good mangaka, but what of the difficulty in Japanese? :thinking: It’s casual Japanese, and often comedic. Would it be alright for a beginner? :thinking:

1 Like

Nah, I’ve mostly read recent stuff.

The first thing that comes to mind is ガンバレ!中村くん!!, as it’s just school conversations.

I don’t read much, but I do know most of them.

@Emoll Depends what you mean by beginner.

What have you read, general level, etc.

1 Like

Oh, you did mention you’ve read translated manga, why not suggest those that were slice of life or about simple themes? They can always check in ebook websites for the level in the sample, or by asking here.

1 Like

Good thinking! It’s a good easy genre. I’ll type up a list later. :+1:

1 Like

I would love to see recommendations of other genres as well, slice of life sounds great! Thank you very much🙏

1 Like

I think I’m at N4 level currently​:kissing::v: