First manga reading attempt

今日は !

As a mere beginner, I still wanted to apply some of my new Japanese knowledge in an attempt to read my first Japanese manga ever : ドラゴンボール

Nevertheless, I was immediately surprised by the difficulty of a manga I thought was good to begin with since it was my favorite one since when I was about 10 years old. It is quite hard to read some letters sometime and it’s difficult to grasp the meaning of a sentence even using Google translate (maybe it is even harder since there is only one translation and not always matching like “it is okay, but I can enjoy it” for “てもいいわけですからたのしめるのです” )

As a consequence, I would like to have your first impression over your first attempt to read a manga and how you manage to get through it :slight_smile: What kind of tools did you use to help you out ? Maybe what was your way of working on it ? (Taking notes, reading a few pages and coming back on them once we have a more general idea of the action… )

Good luck to all the readers :nerd_face:

15 Likes

Yeah, Dragon Ball is definitely not a good place to start as a beginner regardless of what lists like this one says. I tried to do the same thing a while back, too, and had to give up as well.

2 Likes

As to the second half of your question, I’ve instead been trying to read something like Patlabor which is targeted at a slightly older audience so there is far less of the super causal/childish language that Dragon Ball-like series has since all of the characters are pretty much adults.

1 Like

That is exactly the link I was referring :sweat_smile:
Interesting, I didn’t think about that at first but now you mention it, the fact that there are numerous sounds doesn’t really help at first. i know that some other resource like TangoRisto are a good way to get better at reading but staying close to the fun of reading manga is important to me so I’ll take a look at Patlabor too, thanks !