Basic words written strangely in Japanese game (e.g. "すいませーん")

I started playing a dialog-based Japanese game on my NDS in hopes of picking up some vocabulary and improving my listening skills (voice actors read almost everything in the game.)

Surprisingly, I discovered that some common words are spelled wrong in the game. It seems to me as if they write them the way most people actually pronounce them in real life.

For example

Word: すみません :arrow_right::arrow_right: In-game spelling: すいませーん
ありがとう :arrow_right::arrow_right: ありがと

I’m a beginner and would like to know if that’s a common thing and if it’s ok to pronounce these words as they are spelled in the game! :thinking::thinking:

2 Likes

Short answer:
Slang.
Most commonly the omision of something to make it easier/quicker to say.
It is fairly common so you will get used to it quickly.

You will find that the Japanese like to omit things in casual speech pretty often.

9 Likes

They are just more colloquial versions. You definitely do not just want to use those forms willy nilly.

https://jisho.org/word/ありがと

4 Likes

すいません is a very common way to say すみません in a casual way. It’s in the dictionary as well. The lengthening is just mimicking how people say it (in that particular situation in the game you were playing) even further. It reminds me of how you call a waiter or waitress at a restaurant.

It’s not really any different from when you see “c’mon” or “Imma” in English.

13 Likes

Thanks everyone!

So, when speaking (not writing), is it okay to pronounce ありがとう as ありがと?

I was under the impression that that would be wrong and would sound weird to Japanese speakers, but they apparently also pronounce it that way sometimes…

1 Like

You’ll hear ありがと in real life. Same with さよなら rather than さようなら. Though keep in mind that it’s not really a common word to use for everyday “goodbyes,” but if you go to a Japanese school you’ll hear it a lot. That’s the normal way kids say goodbye to teachers at school.

7 Likes