Average time to completion / lifetime subscription

Hi everyone,

Sorry for yet another post like this – not sure if this community prefers new threads or reusing old ones.

I’m new to WaniKani and am really enjoying it so far! I’m not new to Japanese (been procrastinating around the N4 level for a little while), and have been learning kanji in context so far.
But the WaniKani package of radicals + kanji meanings + main onyomi + useful vocab for pronunciation – all wrapped up into a (realistically paced) SRS seems to be the best system I’ve found so far!

(I tried RTK with an Anki deck, but the keywords got cumbersome and it didn’t feel like I was really learning anything useful. Recently I wanted to buy Kodansha KLC but it’s out of print, and the Anki deck doesn’t have the mnemonics.)

I finished the last free level of WaniKani today, and now I’m trying to decide whether I should get a lifetime subscription (currently on sale, how’s that for timing? :sweat_smile:), or a yearly one. I’ve been lurking through the forums a lot the past few days, and have seen people who love their lifetime subscriptions and others who managed to make a yearly subscription work out.

I guess my question is: How long do normal people take on average to get through all 60 levels?

I tried checking my projection graph on the old wkstats site, but I’m worried it’s not an accurate reflection because I’m still at the easy levels, and the projections are based on current progress…

Any opinions would be very appreciated :blush: Happy to be here and looking forward to staying!

6 Likes

I’m on a two-year timetable to level 60, so I grabbed lifetime on sale and have been enjoying the fact that I don’t have to kill myself to get through it on any special timing. This, ironically, is destressing me and allowing me to do better and be a bit faster. Weird.

5 Likes