Is it realisitic to plan to finish 60 levels in 2 years?

Asknig mainly because of the Christmas sale. I see that yearly subscription fee is $89, while the lifetime subscription fee is $199. So, if I am able to finish 60 levels within 2 years, I actually only need to pay $178.

I am new to WaniKani but not new to learning Japanese. I am quite confident in grammer, and can read Japanese manga with help of a dictionary. I want to get to a point where I can read manga without using a dictionary, so I joined WaniKani.

One big advantage is my first language is Cantonese (Chinese in writing system) , so it is actually very easy for me to write Kanji as the shape are nearly identical (in a way where German and English are using nearly identical set of character). Onyomi of the character is also somewhat similar to Cantonese (but kunyomi will be totally different) and meanings are also guessible.

I have joined around 2 weeks ago and I guess I am able to unlock level 4 within this week. Do you think it is realisitc for me to finish 60 levels in 2 years? Should I go for the lifetime plan or year subscription?

------------
Thanks for the reply, but I see that many reply seems to suggest 2 years is enough to reach level 60. My target is not just reaching level 60, but to burn every vocabs. Is 2 years a realistic time for that?

1 Like

People finish in 1 year, 2 is certainly realistic, but it depends on being able to do your reviews every day and not make too many mistakes.

I’d say $20 is not worth the rush or possible loss, and you can always keep using it after.

13 Likes