Author Recommendations? Drop Your Bookmeter Author Graph!

I finally got started reading books in August this year and just finished my 10th book.
I’m currently reading 海辺のカフカ by Murakami, and I’ve got a whole pile of other small books lined up for the coming months (since I’m still new to japanese literature as a whole I’m trying out as many different authors as possible).

Here’s my author graph from bookmeter:

bookmeter

I’d love to see your graphs! Even if you don’t use bookmeter, namedrop some of your favorite authors! Which authors were your gateway into japanese literature? Who do you aspire to read?

10 Likes

I use bookmeter for both books and manga and have only read one long book series, so mine is very biased towards mangaka! And then it’s usually just one series.

Literally the only author on that graph with more than one series I’ve read is 志村貴子, who does primarily LGBT themed manga. I’ve read her for 放浪息子 (transgender theme) and おとなになっても (adult yuri theme). I will eventually read 青い花 (high school yuri theme) as well.

The only non-manga author on this list is 香月美夜, for 本好きの下剋上. I’m up to 16 for that series right now, but by the time I finish the series it will be in the mid 30s.

The only other author I’d call out since I’ve read more than one book/series by her is 上橋菜穂子. I read the first two books of 獣の奏者 as well as 狐笛のかなた. Her works are generally young adult, but can have dense political aspects as well, which is why I haven’t read more yet. Eventually I’d like to read the next two books in the 獣の奏者 series as well as her more recent series 香君.

I can certainly give more individual book recommendations, but if you’re looking for authors I can’t really help much.

7 Likes

Do you mean “literature” in the “classic novels” sense, or just books of any description?

(Sadly booklog doesn’t do graphs, but I might try to do something with its export-to-csv tomorrow.)

3 Likes