Anyone else feel like the order we learn vocab is... interesting?

Hi everyone! I just reached level 8 (yeehaw!). I know Im still an extreme beginner, and I am also taking 1-on-1 lessons with a teacher twice a week~ Does anyone else feel like the vocab in WaniKani is… interesting? My teacher has asked “why do you know that kanji” with a laughing tone more than once :stuck_out_tongue:

I sometimes wish there was an easier way to learn the nuances of a word or how to use the word (or maybe I just dont know enough grammar to understand the sample sentences as well as I should…)

I feel like Im being a little unclear, so heres an example from my lesson today:
Im going to buy a ticket before riding the train.

電車に乗る前に切符を買います。

電車に乗るのであらかじめ切符を買います

I asked “Could I use 以前 here instead of 前に/予め? Dont they both mean before?” My teacher replied that you could use it this way:

切符を買う以前にお金を忘れました

…with the nuance of How stupid , I can’t buy ticket because of I forget money

And now Im more confused than ever :frowning: Has anyone else gone through this? What ways do you all ingest extra vocab outside WK??

I hope yall have a wonderful day!

10 Likes

That seems a little strange to me. None of the kanji in the first 10 levels, for sure, are uncommon at all.

9 Likes

I didnt think so either! But I think it is more “why are you using this word” when there is different/more common vocabulary? I probably worded it poorly, but a recent example is we were talking about engineering and I said “Oh! 工学!” and she said “Oh we say エンジニア, but what you said is correct, we just dont say it” or, "里心” she laughed and said that was a really old fashioned word. I probably worded my post poorly, sorry!

10 Likes