Any tips for University Student using Wanikani as Suppliment? Pacing question mainly

As title states I’m a University student learning Japanese (not as major, but self interest) and am wondering if any Wanikani verterans or new comers like me have any advice on pacing in regards to using the service.

A story on my current pacing issue:
I started using it while in my Japanese 101 class around October or so and it really helped me memorize the Kanji I needed to know and more! At first I was making good progress, doing 10 or so reviews and lessons daily until the semester ended. In the limbo time period between Fall and Spring semester I kinda forgot about Wanikani and to my distraught came back to 110 reviews and 100 lessons. Not remembering how the site worked I sat down and did all of the reviews and lessons only to learn the website was probably thinking: “Man you really want to learn fast, here are some more lessons!” And stacked up even more. So I’ve only been doing a few a day to slow it back down.

However I’ve come to realize that even though I did around 3-4 months of Wanikani I’m only barely into Level 3 and there are 60 levels total. My aim is not to do all levels in a year (that’s insane, props to anyone who does). But do it as a supplement to my Japanese class and learn a bit on top of it. Is the first 10 levels at a snail pace on purpose or is that just my perception?

When I was working at my part-time job they allowed up to use our phones in down time (I organize dishes at a dining hall on campus so there are 30 minute intervals between classes with barely anyone). And in that time I’d do a couple review sessions but often didn’t really remember any since I was distracted (by the noise around me probably). On top of the fact Japanese isn’t apart of my major (I use it for credits / self interest) so even though I want to put time into it, I end up putting more time into class assignments towards my major. So time management seems to be my issue.