An idea for a WaniKani app

A few minutes ago, I came up with a really nice idea for a WaniKani app

… Or I think it could be useful. I’m not a programmer and therefore have no means to put my idea into reality, but maybe someone could make it happen.

Anyways, I was thinking about the apps that combine the alarm clock with math calculations - you have to type in the correct answer for a simple math question (for ex. 45+12=?) to make the alarm stop. With this, your brain has to warm up a little bit, therefore pulling you from the sleepy/zombie morning mode, making it easier for you to get up. And even if you’re not in the mood of doing maths early morning (which I think nobody is), you have to force yourself to make the alarm clock shut the hell up.

I was wondering whether a similar thing would be possible for WaniKani - an app that would make you do just 1 review (the next in your queue) to stop the alarm clock. I’m sure even the most hardcore WaniKaniers will have a couple of reviews after several hours of sleep, making it a universal app which could also help you improve your japanese a little bit. As we know all, we learn the best when we are forced to… and that would be a really brutal way to do so :).

You certainly could make a device that would force you to enter the correct information before it stops doing whatever annoying thing it is doing but there’s no good way to have that “review” count toward your WK progress.

The API only lets you get the information from the items you currently have available.  There is no way through the API to submit anything - especially not a review status (otherwise there would probably be a lot more level 50s).  So your device would have to actually log into the real WK site, start an actual review session, make sure you get exactly 1 item (reading and meaning) and then end the review once you’ve answered them correctly.  While theoretically possible, it seems highly impracticable.