Am I the only one who enjoys the slow pace on WaniKani?

Hi there! I’m a new user of WaniKani (currently in level 2) and I have been enjoying it a lot. I started studying Japanese pretty recently due to my new found interest in anime and the band Yoasobi, and I came across WaniKani pretty randomly in a youtube video about Japanese learning. I wanted to try it out since learning vocabulary (and especially kanji) has been kicking my ass. And I gotta say I’m pretty satisfied so far, even though I just started. I will definitely get a monthly subscription when I’m done with level 3!

I was reading a few posts on the WaniKani community, and it seems like a lot of people are complaining about the slow pace of WaniKani, because you have to wait a lot in between reviews and you can’t get new lessons until you get out of the apprentice stage. But personally I have been loving it a lot! I have been quite busy lately because of my student job, and thanks to the spaced reviews and lessons, it has allowed me to learn and review small chunks bit by bit during my breaks. It might take me longer to finish lessons, but that way it doesn’t feel overwhelming. It also allows me to learn Japanese grammar when I don’t have any reviews or lessons waiting for me after work. So that way I’m not neglecting it either.

Another reason why I really love WaniKani, is that it makes me enjoy learning vocabulary. I’m someone who loves learning new languages (I’m trilingual and I’m learning another language next to Japanese) and usually I absolutely HATE learning vocabulary. I put all my energy in learning grammar, because that’s what I enjoy the most. Learning vocabulary is really tiresome and boring to me because it’s usually pure memorization, and it’s something I’m bad at thus really despise. But learning kanji on WaniKani feels like playing a game so it makes the experience of learning vocabulary really enjoyable.