Am I ready to start learning grammar?

At my current level should i start learning grammar, or should I wait until im a higher level?

1 Like

Personally I don’t think there’s a reason to wait to start.

17 Likes

I started learning grammar before I knew any kanji. There’s no reason to wait!

14 Likes

I would’ve suggested it before even starting WK! Get on it!

I think the grammar is necessary to help reinforce a lot of WK’s vocabulary too–both to distinguish between types of words and begin to make heads or tails of usage via the example sentences. (Even if you can’t read them fully, you can grab enough from context to help illustrate usage if you can understand some of the grammar surrounding the word.)

And yeah, most Japanese classes start on grammar before ever touching kanji.

5 Likes

I agree with the posters below. While you are waiting for new lessons and reviews you have something productive to fill your time with. In my opinion the grammar is far more important that kanji. I know plenty of people who can communicate well but can’t really read much.

2 Likes

WaniKani is not a prerequisite to anything.

You’re wasting precious grammar learning time by putting it off.

2 Likes

Thanks. Do you have any recommendations of were to start learning?

Tae Kim and Genki (or other similar textbooks). The former for a more concise format, the latter for a more comprehensive more than grammar kind.

http://www.guidetojapanese.org/learn/grammar

1 Like

Thank you so much!! :grin:

grammar

5 Likes

It’s almost a shame you didn’t ask sooner when your kanji load was super easy! :rofl: Definitely start now. Unless your accuracy currently is poor, your reviews will start slamming you once enlightened items come back (probably somewhere between level 17 to 24 if you’re going at a decent speed), so, like everyone else, I definitely recommend starting now while you’re only managing recent items.