Affordable Video Tutoring Sessions?

Something I really want to do this summer is have semi-consistent video calls with a native Japanese tutor, entirely in Japanese. Currently I can barely hold a conversation, so this should be fun (at least for me. The potential pain for the person on the other end is why I’m looking for a paid tutor and not a language partner…lol). Some of you may recognize this approach as Benny Lewis’s approach – basically I wanna throw myself in the deep end and see what happens. My rationale is that I know I am more than capable of teaching myself grammar points via books, the Internet, and self-study, but I can’t teach myself immersive speaking skills. So.

Basically, I’m looking for any pointers on finding an affordable language tutor for the summer. Anyone know of any good sites for that? Because I’m a poor college student I’m looking for a price range between $10-20 an hour…obviously the more expensive it is, the less often I can do it, but I also want the person to be properly compensated for dealing with me.

However, I won’t be asking them for extreme grammar knowledge, since scholarly language is definitely not in my limited vocabulary, so the only skills they really need to possess are (a) native Japanese speaking skills, (b) patience, and (c.) probably a sense of humor. I guess some teaching skills would help? However, I really want these to be total immersive sessions, so I don’t want a teacher lapsing into English because they think it will be easier for me.

Has anyone gone this approach before? Any advice on where to find reasonably priced, good tutors who understand and use the immersion method? I’ll be doing this all on my laptop since my phone is awful, so sadly apps like Tandem aren’t really gonna work.

2 Likes

iTalki. You can find both community tutors (starting from $4/h) to actual teachers in that range. When I had lessons there, I had a qualified teacher for $15/h. Actual natives, mind you :slight_smile:

7 Likes