Advice for starting again? 2300 reviews

Hi everyone!

I started WaniKani in late 2014 and got to level 19. During a trip to Toukyou the following summer to take a language course, my kanji experience proved amazingly helpful! I was a level I student, but better at reading than most level III students in the language course, and was able to pick up new things that much faster because I was familiar with so many kanji and words already.

As I had plenty of opportunities to read and look up/learn kanji just out and about, and didn’t have a ton of free time between exploring, homework, and the hour and fifteen minute commute from my dorm to the school, a couple weeks in I fell off keeping up with my WaniKani reviews.

My mistake was that I didn’t get back into it after coming back home, and then getting into an intense school year, didn’t touch the massive review pile accumulating.

Now I’ve got a little more free time and decided to re-subscribe, and have 2,319 review items and 138 lessons or so. I’m also a bit worried I may have forgotten some of my burned items.

I was wondering if anyone has any thoughts/advice on getting back into it or how to break it up. I’m assuming I shouldn’t touch the lessons until I get reviews down to something manageable. Should I just power through and let the SRS do its job sorting through what I do and don’t remember (and maybe resurrect burned items I’m not sure about)?

4 Likes

I was in a similar position as you about a month ago, after coming back from a 7 month-ish hiatus, I had about 1500+ reviews and 180 lessons or something like that :see_no_evil:

I just did as many reviews as I could every day and didn’t touch my lessons until I finished all the reviews. It took me about a week to get back on track that way. The SRS definitely pointed out my weak points and it did its job well in bringing me back to where I needed to be.